Slam Dunk Contest

The principal event of NBA All-Star Weekend is one of the most iconic sporting events from the Earth, and it is not a match. Input the Slam Dunk Contest, that has supplied countless memorable moments during the years.

This is the 34th edition of this occasion, and will once more contain four dunkers. It is a two-round occasion, with every dunker obtaining two dunks in the first round, which is judged on a 6-10 scale by five candidates — Alonzo Mourning, David Thompson, Dee Brown, Candace Parker and A’ja Wilson. The dunkers using the two highest scores will advance to the championship round, in which they will once more have two dunks.

Last year’s winner, Utah Jazz protector Donovan Mitchell, is not in case that time round, meaning a new winner will be crowned.

How to watch NBA Slam Dunk Contest

Date: Saturday, Feb. 16

Time: 8 p.m. ET (Third event)

Location: Spectrum Center — Charlotte, North Carolina


Streaming: fuboTV (try it free)

Slam Dunk Contest

Slam Dunk Contest participants

  • Dennis Smith Jr., New York Knicks
  • Hamidou Diallo, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Miles Bridges, Charlotte Hornets
  • John Collins, Atlanta Hawks

NBA Slam Dunk Contest format, scoring

Despite many changes through time, the competition has reverted back into a very simple format.

Five judges will benchmark the dunks on a scale of 6-10, with 50 being the highest score per effort. Both players with the greatest combined score in both first-round dunks will proceed to the finals, with the winner being determined precisely the exact same manner.

Who is in the 2019 NBA Slam Dunk Contest?

The 2019 competition in Charlotte, N.C., will comprise two rookies (Miles Bridges of this hometown Hornets and Thunder shield Hamidou Diallo) along with a set of second-year gamers (Hawks ahead John Collins and newly-acquired Dennis Smith of the Knicks). Smith also participated in the event this past year. Reigning champion Donovan Mitchell won’t be part of the area this season.